Current Print Edition


Specialty Magazines



top docs

No new leaders elected for DeKalb Board of Commissioners

20130924 102012

Finding a leader for the DeKalb County Board of Commissioners was tough today. The board failed to elect a presiding officer and a deputy presiding officer who would be responsible for running the meetings and making assignments to various committees. Larry Johnson, Stan Watson and Jeff Rader were all nominated, but the board could not agree to pick either of the three as presiding officer.

The board also could not agree on who would be the deputy presiding officer. Sharon Barnes Sutton was nominated, but the vote to elect her also failed. Sutton will continue serving as presiding officer until the board can come to an agreement. The vote will be taken at the next meeting.

Story developing.

Online Payment