Current Print Edition


Specialty Magazines



top docs

Spotlight Features

Congressman Johnson announces 2014 winners of CBCF scholarships

Congressman Hank Johnson (GA-04) announced the winners of the 2014 Congressional Black Caucus Foundation Spouses Education Scholarships. The five winners hail from across the Fourth Congressional Dis


DeKalb School Board to elect chair, vice chair


The DeKalb Board of Education will elect a chair and vice chair at its first meeting of the year on Jan. 6. The board will choose its leaders at its workshop meeting at 2 p.m.

There also will be a community input session at 5:45 p.m. Four constituents have signed up to speak at the input session, which will be followed by the board’s business meeting at 7 p.m. Both meetings will be held at the School Board headquarters, 1701 Mountain Industrial Blvd. in Stone Mountain.  

For the past year, Melvin Johnson, who represents District 6, has served as chair and James “Jim” McMahan, who represents District 4, has served as vice chair of the nine-member board. In addition to Johnson and McMahan, Marshall Orson, District 2, holds an elected seat on the board.     

DeKalb’s reconstituted board also includes six others who were appointed last year by Gov. Nathan Deal: Karen W. Carter, District 8; David Campbell, District 5; John W. Coleman, District 1; Michael A. Erwin, District 3; Thaddeus “Thad” Mayfield, District 9; and Joyce Morley, District 7.

Deal made the appointments to replace board members who were suspended after the school district was placed on probation by its accrediting agency for financial mismanagement and a history of division.

Online Payment