Current Print Edition


Specialty Magazines



top docs

Spotlight Features

Congressman Johnson announces 2014 winners of CBCF scholarships

Congressman Hank Johnson (GA-04) announced the winners of the 2014 Congressional Black Caucus Foundation Spouses Education Scholarships. The five winners hail from across the Fourth Congressional Dis


Snapping Shoals EMC awards $40,000 in scholarships to students



Snapping Shoals EMC awards scholarships for 2014 Snapping Shoals EMC recently awarded $40,000 in scholarships to high school seniors.

Twenty students from the Covington-based co-op’s territory were chosen to receive the scholarships from among more than 100 applicants. Fourteen students who will receive J.E. Robinson Memorial Scholarships in the amounts of $2,000 are:            

§     District 1 (Newton, Walton, Morgan and Jasper counties) – Ifeoma Egbulem, Brandon Hayden, Tyler Smith, Lesley Ochei           

§     District 2 (Rockdale County) – Alexis Mathis, Aquib Momin, Brianna Patton, Julie Roseberry 

§     District 3 (DeKalb County) – Arely Lopez and DeJai Mitchell           

§     District 4 (Henry and Butts counties) – Ablavi Degue, Forrest Elliott, Maggie Ivester, Rachel Stokes

 The selection of the J.E. Robinson Memorial Scholarship recipients is based on academic ability, financial need, school activities, community involvement and other criteria.

The Snapping Shoals EMC Scholarships were created in 1993 and were renamed in memory of Snapping Shoals’ former manager, president and CEO J.E. Robinson after his death in 2004.

Also worth $2,000 each, the first Snapping Shoals EMC All-Around Student Scholarships were created in 2007 to recognize the high school students throughout the co-op’s area who are able to balance involvement in extracurricular activities while maintaining an excellent academic record. Involvement in school and community activities is the primary consideration for the All-Around Student Scholarship. Academic ability and financial need are also factors in the selection of the All-Around scholarship recipients.

§     The six winners of All-Around Student Scholarships are Aaron Barron, Conyers

§     Hannah Brown, McDonough

§     Sierra Fleming, Covington

§     Ajanae Parks, Covington

§     Bradford Porter, Covington

§     Sheyenne Rowe, Conyers

SSEMC scholarships are funded by unclaimed capital credits. Capital credits are the revenues that are over and above the cost of providing service for customer-owners of an electric co-op for a specific year after financial obligations have been met. SSEMC routinely refunds these capital credits to its members when its Board of Directors determines it is appropriate to do so. The unclaimed funds are used to support such programs as the Bright Ideas program, the Snapping Shoals EMC scholarship program and other community and economic development projects. Snapping Shoals EMC is a consumer-owned cooperative providing electric service to approximately 95,000 homes and businesses primarily in Newton, Rockdale, Henry and southern DeKalb counties.

Online Payment