Current Print Edition


Specialty Magazines



top docs

Spotlight Features

Congressman Johnson announces 2014 winners of CBCF scholarships

Congressman Hank Johnson (GA-04) announced the winners of the 2014 Congressional Black Caucus Foundation Spouses Education Scholarships. The five winners hail from across the Fourth Congressional Dis


Graduation 2014

grad banner


A former DeKalb County student received the President’s Second Mile Award at Savannah State University during the 184th commencement ceremony on May 10. The award is one of the highest honors presented to graduating college seniors and is based upon character, values, leadership and service to the university and the community.


Shara Bennett, majored in political science and received the award for her leadership as president of the NAACP Collegiate Chapter and Sisters Striving for Excellence. Her other campus involvement included Student Government Association, Tiger Ambassadors, Student Orientation Leaders, and Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc.


In the community, Bennett’s passion for voluntarism has included projects with the Inner City Night Shelter, Boys and Girls Club and Second Harvest Food Bank. Bennett plans to study abroad and attend a pathway program for recent graduates interested in government careers. Bennett, who is from Stone Mountain, is a graduate of Stephenson High School.


The other winner of the prestigious award, was Anita Taylor, a homeland security and emergency management major, received the recognition for her stellar leadership as president of the degree program’s student organization, which was heavily involved in numerous campus and community projects the Inner City Night Shelter, the Home Depot Hurricane Expo and various security simulations.


In June, Taylor will join the Federal Emergency Management Agency Corps in Vicksburg, Miss., as a field team leader for disaster response. A native of Holly Hill, S.C., Taylor attended Cross High School.


At each commencement ceremony, the President’s Second Mile Award is presented to a deserving student or students in recognition of stellar and meritorious achievement.


Established in 1890, Savannah State University is the oldest public historically black college or university in Georgia and the oldest institution of higher learning in the city of Savannah. The university’s 4,800 students select degree majors from 26 undergraduate and five graduate programs in the three colleges – Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, Business Administration and Sciences and Technology – and the School of Teacher Education.


More grads


Listed above:


DeKalb County:


Arabia Mountain (Magnet Program):


Dallas Turner
Amera Dixon


Arabia Mountain:


Fabian Flowers
Victoria Bailey




Cedar Grove:
Ashjah Hall    


Chandler Ector




Chamblee Charter (Magnet Program):      


Abhijith Bathini
Sounak Das


Chamblee Charter:


Lizaremi Luna-Sousa
Nayden Velev




Phat Chang      


Kim An Ta


Columbia (Magnet Program):      


Tecora Lawrence
Taivon Watkins




Mikirra Bullard
LaDarrius Heath


Cross Keys:
Kui Sit Cristian


Padilla Romero


DeKalb Early College Academy:
Naud Ghebre    


Anthena Butler


DeKalb School of the Arts:
Emma Rary      


Eliza Guinn


Druid Hills:
Adriano Iqbal  


Vivian Lee




Mallory Harris
Jennifer Hardister      


Elizabeth Hardister


Martin Luther King, Jr:
Indigo Gill    


Romane Moore




Emma Heneine    


Danielle Wagner
Anna Wickham


Kristin Jamison


Brianna White


Ronald E. McNair:
Justin Jenkins  


Luis Salmeron


Miller Grove:
Janae Williams  


Jazlyn Grier


TyKeria Davidson        


Kiandra Smith


Southwest DeKalb (Magnet Program):       


Damian Horton
Chelsea Jackson


Southwest DeKalb:


Darsan DeShazier
Gabrielle Ash


Zoe-Ann Robertson      


Nadaysia Brooks


Stone Mountain:


Vy Huynh
Thi Thong      


Jamarquise Huston


Aliyah Copeland


Jack Nguyen




Ummar Jamal    


Huy Diep
Ryan Strickland






Rockdale County:




Vikash Pankaj Patel
Kenya Nycole Joyce Jordan








Tajumade Faminu
Ellen Dement




Rockdale County:


Brooke Gable
Brianna Patton


Rockdale Magnet School for Science and Technology:
Sonam Brahmbhatt
Aaron Barron






Gwinnett County:






Matthew McNeely


Amber Fleeman






Mati Nemera


Hong-Hanh Thi Nguyen






Elion Bufi


Martha Weber


Central Gwinnett High


Braden Glover


Hannah Supple


Savannah Holbrook




Collins Hill


Riley Poynter


Allison Burg






Melissa Johnson


Heather Nikole Gee






Justin Choi


Abhirup Ramachandiran






Sydney Wade


Chandler Ray




Gwinnett County Online Campus


Abigrace Diprima


Shona Jackson




Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science, and Technology


William Jin


Michael Wang






Virginia Oliver


Ashley Bahrenburg






Cindy Nguyen


Hannah Dinh




Mill Creek


Hyeon Woo Shim


Timothy Le




Mountain View


Sandrine Lefebvre


Stephen Jenkins








Nicole Willis


Rakin Mohammed




North Gwinnett


Eunhye Choi


Apoorva Gangavelli






Aprotim Cory Bhowmik


Michael Yu




Peachtree Ridge


Rikhil Shah


Leigh Johnson






Rebeka Zahirovic


Nahom Solomon




South Gwinnett


Chi Nguyen


Kimarah Laurent






Gates Millennium scholars 




 The Gates Millennium Scholars Program was established in 1999 by a grant from the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. In order to reach and support its constituents, the organization has partnered with the American Indian Graduate Center Scholars, the Asian and Pacific Islander American Scholarship Fund, the Hispanic Scholarship Fund, and the United Negro College Fund.


These high school seniors join a group of 1,000 students from across the nation to receive the honor this year.  In addition to the full scholarship for undergraduate work, the Gates Millennium Scholars also qualify for funding to cover graduate and doctoral work in the areas of computer science, education, engineering, library science, mathematics, public health or science. The program, funded by a grant from the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation, promotes academic excellence for outstanding minority low-income students.


According to school representatives, in order to earn the scholarship, the seniors participated in a lengthy and competitive application process. Honorees were selected based on a review of their academic record, community involvement and extracurricular activities and their families’ need for financial assistance. The program recognizes high-achieving African American, American Indian/Alaska Native (must provide proof of tribal enrollment), Asian/Pacific Islander American, and Hispanic American students.




We salute these exceptional high school students in our community.




This year’s honorees from DeKalb are:


Njeri Bennett of Arabia Mountain


Amera Dixon of Arabia Mountain


David Shoneye of Arabia Mountain  


Juwan Thompson of Arabia Mountain


Yusra Ahmedin of Chamblee  


Muhozi Aimable of Chamblee


Tluang Cer of Clarkston


Kim An Ta of Clarkston


Chao Lin of Cross Keys


Ashton Jordan of Dunwoody


David Smith of Lithonia


Deona Clayton of McNair  


Vy Huynh of Stone Mountain


Ekue Kagni of Stone Mountain


Thi Thong of Stone Mountain


Peri Green of Southwest DeKalb




Gwinnett’s honorees are:
Micheline Amisi of Archer


Oluwatomisin “Tomi” Adelusi of Brookwood


Paula Deroseney of Dacula


Chinye Ijeli of Gwinnett School of Mathematics, Science, and
Jonathan S. Conde-Peraza of Meadowcreek
Nabilah Khanam of Meadowcreek


Caridad Milanes of Meadowcreek


Thaxton Lipscomb of Mountain View


Thien-Phuoc Do of Norcross
Josselyn Garcia of Norcross
Benazir Haseen of Norcross


Annie Yang of North Gwinnett
Hildana Haileyesus of Parkview
Brian Chung of Peachtree Ridge


Brandon Johnson of Shiloh




Rockdale’s honorees are:


Angelina Allen of Rockdale County


Aqib Momin of Rockdale County (Magnet Program)  


Chelse Steele of Rockdale County (Magnet Program)


Online Payment