Current Print Edition


Specialty Magazines



top docs

Spotlight Features

Congressman Johnson announces 2014 winners of CBCF scholarships

Congressman Hank Johnson (GA-04) announced the winners of the 2014 Congressional Black Caucus Foundation Spouses Education Scholarships. The five winners hail from across the Fourth Congressional Dis


City of Atlanta appoints emergency management group



Atlanta Mayor Kasim Reed has appointed a 30-member team to serve as the city’s Emergency Management Preparedness Advisory Group to offer recommendations on preparing for, responding to, and managing emergencies that occur in Atlanta.

The group brings together a variety of leaders and stakeholders in law enforcement, emergency response and preparedness, meteorology, utility companies, business, education and local, state and federal government agencies.

The group will offer recommendations to ensure the City of Atlanta is prepared to handle any natural disaster or severe weather event and ensure the safety and security of its citizens.

The members of the group are: Natalyn Archibong, Council Member, City of Atlanta District 5; Angela Barrett, Director, City of Atlanta E-911; Mark Becker, President, Georgia State University; Carlton Brown, President, Clark Atlanta University; Markina Brown, Meteorologist, CBS 46; Glenn Burns, Meteorologist, WSB TV; Joann Butler, Director, City of Atlanta 311; Kelvin Cochran, Chief Atlanta Fire & Rescue, City of Atlanta; Bert Davis, Distribution Engineer, Georgia Power; Charley English, Director, Georgia Emergency Management Agency; Dwight Ferrell, Fulton County Manager; Michael Geisler, Interim COO, City of Atlanta; Bart Gobiel, COO, Gov. Nathan Deal; Keith Golden, Commissioner, Georgia Department of Transportation; Joseph Henderson, MPA, Office of COO, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention; Oz Hill, Retired Lt. Colonel, City of Atlanta; Larry Hoskins, Deputy Supt of Operations, Atlanta Public Schools; Matthew Kalmyer, Director Atlanta Fulton County Emergency Management Agency; Bill Massey, Director, Hurricane & Emergency, Dewberry Consulting; Richard Mendoza, Public Works Commissioner, City of Atlanta; Hala Moddelmog, CEO, Metro Atlanta Chamber of Commerce; Bryan Norcross, Management & Emergency Expert, The Weather Channel; Keith Parker, CEO, MARTA; Bud Peterson, President, Georgia Tech; Frank Poe, Executive Director, Georgia World Congress Center Authority; Marquenta Sands, Director of Safety and Security, Atlanta Public Schools; Marshall Shepherd, 2013 President, American Meteorological Society, University of Georgia; Keith Stellman, Meteorologist, National Weather Service; Beverly Tatum, President, Spelman College; Ronald Stephens, Executive Director, Atlanta Fed Exec. Board; George Turner, Chief of Police, City of Atlanta; Hans Utz, Deputy COO, City of Atlanta; Tom Weyandt, Deputy COO, City of Atlanta; John Wilson, President, Morehouse College; and Kristin Wilson, Deputy COO, City of Atlanta.

Online Payment