Current Print Edition


Specialty Magazines



top docs

Spotlight Features

Congressman Johnson announces 2014 winners of CBCF scholarships

Congressman Hank Johnson (GA-04) announced the winners of the 2014 Congressional Black Caucus Foundation Spouses Education Scholarships. The five winners hail from across the Fourth Congressional Dis


DeKalb early voting for runoffs shows steady numbers


The primary runoff elections are underway and DeKalb officials report 223 voters cast their ballots on June 30, the first day of early voting. The early voting period ends July 18. The runoff elections are July 22.

With 276 voters casting their ballots on July 1, Director of DeKalb County Registration and Elections H. Maxine Daniels, says voter turnout has been steady.


“Since this is the first time we have a full three-week voting period for a primary runoff, we have no historical data to compare these numbers to but it seems that since many people are on vacation this week, they are coming in to vote at a steady pace throughout the day,” said Daniels. “We had one bus from a DeKalb Senior Center come in and have several more scheduled during the remaining voting period. We will have to wait and see if the traffic picks up as we approach the last week as it usually does for the primary or general election.”


The DeKalb Sheriff race puts former CEO Vernon Jones against recently- appointed Sheriff Jeff Mann. Mann, the Sheriff’s Department No. 2 person in charge, was sworn into office in February when Thomas Brown stepped down as sheriff to run for Congress.

Mann is facing whistle blowers. A former worker has filed a civil lawsuit alleging she and others were required to work on Mann’s campaign during county time. An ethics complaint also was filed in June against Mann by another former worker alleging abuse and also that she had to work on Mann’s primary campaign during county time.


DeKalb voters will elect three people to the School Board. Atticus Leblanc is challenging incumbent Michael A. Erwin for the District 3 seat. Incumbents Jim McMahan and Karen Carter will square off for the District 4 seat and in DeKalb’s District 5, incumbent Thad Mayfield is being challenged by Vickie B. Turner.


In-person early voting for the July 22 election will continue at the Voter Registration and Elections Office at 4380 Memorial Drive, Decatur until July 18. Absentee mail voting will end on July 18 as well. The run-off election is on July 22. There will be no Saturday voting and the office will be closed on July 4 in observance of Independence Day.  

Sample ballots are available at under “Current Election Information.”


To find your polling place and see your sample ballot, go to My Voter Page at Applications and other information may be obtained at the website or by calling the Voter Registration & Elections office at 404-298-4020.

Online Payment