Current Print Edition


Specialty Magazines



top docs

Spotlight Features

Congressman Johnson announces 2014 winners of CBCF scholarships

Congressman Hank Johnson (GA-04) announced the winners of the 2014 Congressional Black Caucus Foundation Spouses Education Scholarships. The five winners hail from across the Fourth Congressional Dis


Voters keep some incumbents, elect new leaders


According to unofficial results posted by Georgia’s Secretary of State Valarie D. Wilson will represent the Democratic Party in the race for the State School Superintendent seat. The seat will be left open because current State School Superintendent John Barge is running for Governor.  


Wilson received 73,590 or 54.38 percent of the vote, defeating Democrat opponent Alisha Morgan who had 61,726 or 45.62 percent of the vote. In November, Wilson will face Republican Richard L. Woods, who received 199,259 or 50.09 percent of the vote. Woods defeated Michael “Mike” Buck who received 49.91 percent of the vote.


In the race to name DeKalb’s Sheriff, incumbent Jeff Mann easily defeated former CEO Vernon Jones with 40, 537 or 76.36 percent of the vote. Jones received 12,553 or 23.64 percent of the vote.

In DeKalb’s election to elect leaders for the county school system, former school headmaster Vickie Turner, with 5,192 or 59.74 percent of the vote, defeated incumbent Thad Mayfield for the District 5 Board of Education seat. Mayfield received 3,499 or 40.26 percent of the vote.


Incumbent Jim McMahan will keep his District 4 seat, receiving 4,618 or 57.57 percent of the vote. Competitor Karen Carter received 3,404 or 42.43 percent of the vote.  


Incumbent Michael Irwin will keep his District 3 seat, receiving 4,164 or 58.81 percent of the vote. Competitor Atticus Leblanc received 2,916 or 41.19 percent of the vote.  

Pictured at top: DeKalb County Sheriff Jeff Mann is congratulared on his victory by a supporter at the Sheriff's victory party on July 23 in Tucker.

Online Payment