Current Print Edition


Specialty Magazines



top docs

Larry Johnson, Stan Watson elected to lead DeKalb BOC


DeKalb County Commissioner Larry Johnson, District 3, was elected presiding officer and Commissioner Stan Watson, Super District 7, was elected deputy presiding officer at the Board of Commissioners’ Jan. 28 meeting. The positions are for one year.

The elections ended a deadlocked board, which failed two weeks ago to reach a consensus on the leadership roles.

The Presiding Officer chairs all Commission meetings, makes appointments to the standing committees for the Board and sets the agenda for the Board of Commission meetings. The deputy presiding officer fills in for the presiding officer.

Watson, who had abstained from voting two weeks ago, cast the swing vote for Johnson. Watson, Commissioners Elaine Boyer and Sharon Barnes Sutton, along with Johnson voting for himself comprised the four votes Johnson needed to become presiding officer. Commissioners Kathie Gannon and Jeff Rader cast the dissenting votes.

The board had bickered over the roles with Gannon and Rader saying they wanted different leadership.

This year will mark the fifth time that Johnson has served as presiding officer during his 12-year tenure on the board. Johnson was first elected as Presiding Officer by the BOC in 2009 and was reelected to consecutive terms through 2012.     

“I am honored to serve in this capacity again, and feel confident that we can work together on the Board and with the Interim CEO’s Office to ensure that the people’s business is handled professionally, timely and satisfactorily,” said Johnson.

Online Payment